Droid RAZR on Straight Talk

Hello world.  I figure today, since this is my first blog post, I will talk about some research I recently did.  I currently have a Motorola Droid RAZR on the Verizon network.  I am completely happy with my phone, however, I am completely unhappy with my phone carrier’s customer service.  To this, I am going switching.

Now, for anyone who has ever heard of straight talk, they have sim cards which you can purchase which will allow you to use your smart phone on their network.  Where my conundrum came in was, can a Droid RAZR XT912 work on Straight Talk’s network.  The answer I found was no.  The Droid RAZR XT912 will not work because it does not utilize the right frequencies. 

While looking around though a certain post in the XDA forums caught my eye.  It stated that the individual had bought a SIM card unlock pin to unlock the sim card to work with any network from Verizon themselves.  This was exactly what I was looking for!  An unlock code which all you have to do is buy and use to unlock your phone!  With this I could use my phone with Straight Talk!  Alas, I found not only was this person wrong, but he had literally paid for his ignorance.

Verizon’s sim card is nothing more than a smart card which hold’s your account information for use when utilizing the 4g network.  Theoretically, according to Verizon’s FAQs page, you are able to take the sim card out of your XT912 and place it into another phone.  That phone will immediately start utilizing your bandwidth and will be able to access 4g.  This of course only works with phones capable of accessing the 4g bands.

Let’s say, then, that you do not want to share your sim card with someone else?  Well, says Verizon, why don’t you put a key code on it!  Now when inserted for the first time, a password is required to utilize 4g services.  But wait, theres more!!!!  If you get it wrong 3 times it will lock out your sim card, so some joe shmoe can’t just steal your sim card and rape your data usage.

This is where that unlock code comes in.  After your sim card is “locked out,” you have to goto Verizon and purchase a sim card unlock from them to reset the password. 

Lets address another quick rumor turned true.  ICS for the Droid RAZR XT912 will work with NON US external networks.  This is unfortunate for those of us who use US networks.  That is how we must deal.

8 thoughts on “Droid RAZR on Straight Talk

  1. Confirmed.
    so I just found out this verizon phone, even though it has a sim card, is not really GSM. It’s CDMA for USA use, and GSM for international use. .. putting in both radios allows Verizon to lock their phones in the US to block the customer from switching to a new telco provider. But they put in a GSM sim card so US citizens can travel abroad to use their phone. So basically, because I left my carrier I essentially have a bricked phone. (As far as using it in the US). The only thing I can think of to do is sell it on ebay to an international distributer so someone in another country can purchase and use it. I’ll need to buy a new phone unlocked (GSM) phone. gazzelle will give me 115 bucks for it.. which stinks. ebay looks to be around 150$ and there seems to be a high supply of them (probably folks that are having the same problem as us!) Motorola Droid RAZR MAXX XT912

  2. Can’t we unlock the phone? I just bought a Droid Mini, and I was not informed that this phone will not work with StraightTalk.

    • Jesus,

      I have not researched the droid mini. You should be able to tell by looking at the bands that your phone operates at. If it operates in the correct bands, you might be able to get it to work.

      -Squirrel

  3. Currently using moto xt912 on straight talk byop took a lot of work rooting,flashing,switched Roms, etc etc, it works fine with CDMA/lte. Will
    not work as gsm also you will have to change ESN . It will take time and help with someone more than well versed in unlocking and cloning.. Good luck all

    • Kyle. Excellent! I am glad you managed it. If you could provide any examples to how you managed it beyond that, feel free to post a response. I actually no longer have my XT912 either so I am looking at other phones now too.

Leave a Reply

